Facebook Youtube
Home | Best Village 2015 Winners Receive Cash Prizes

Best Village 2015 Winners Receive Cash Prizes

Winners of  the 2015 edition of the Prime Minister’s Best Village Trophy Competition received their cash prizes on Wednesday December 01, 2015, during a Prize-giving Ceremony held at the Preysal Community Centre. Dr. the Honourable Nyan Gadsby-Dolly, Minister of Community Development, Culture and the Arts accompanied by Permanent Secretary, Vidiah Ramkhelawan,  attended the event and presented cash prizes of the various categories.

While some category winners would have received their prizes at the Le Gran Z’Affaire which was held in September, winning individuals and groups in the categories of Village Olympics, Village Chat/Poetry, La Reine Rive, Folk Presentations and Handicraft were presented with cash prizes yesterday.

During her feature address, Minister Gadsby-Dolly began by acknowledging the contributions of the groups and their families to the Best Village Programme over the past five decades. She urged groups present to contemplate future productions and projects they can engage in across their communities during the upcoming year, and to never stop exploring their potential for development. She also advised  groups that the title of  ‘Winner’ in the Prime Minister’s Best Village Trophy Competition positions them at the helm of the creative industry in Trinidad and Tobago and within our region. 

The Minister also took a moment to recognize the contributions of Best Village stalwart – Junior Noel who died on November 28th. She concluded by congratulating all participant of the 2015 Best Village Programme

Permanent Secretary, Vidiah Ramkhelawan in her brief remarks, told the audience that the Best Village Programme attested to all we can gain from, as a nation, in terms of developmental initiatives that bring community, culture and arts together.  She urged groups to continue to encourage community participation in the programme for increased awareness and national pride.

Entertainment for the ceremony was provided by Zakiya Gill of the Best Village Unit, Ricardo Roberts of Curepe Invaders, the Best Village Shakti Dancers and a group of Paranderos out of Tabaquite called Moments.

In delivering an overview of the 2015 Programme, Coordinator of the Best Village Programme, Gwendolyn Salick provided a record of the number of groups participating in the various categories as well as some positive feedback from the workshops that are currently being conducted across the country in music, dance, drama and drumming from November 21 to December 12, 2015

Best Village 2015 Results

Members of Caroni North “Ah We People” receive a cheque for $50,000.00 for cupping first place in the Folk Theatre

Miss La Reine Rive 2015, Nicolette Brathwaite receives her prize from Minister of Community Development, Culture and the Arts, Dr. the Honourable Nyan Gadsby-Dolly and PS Vidiah Ramkhelawan. Looking on at left is Gwendolyn Salick, Best Village Coordinator

Enjoying their piece: The Best Village Shakti Dancers

Best Village    Events    Media Centre    Partner Links